dont bother
24.03.13 | 2:20 pm


thinking about internships and phd programs and how if i want to get anywhere in life, i need to be the best at what i'm doing now, which means submitting and publishing papers and stories but it never seems like i ever legitimately have the extra time to do it.

i get bogged down in thinking: you are not good enough (for anything, really, it does not matter what it is, from making new friends to getting a new job).

one of my friends from study abroad got married this weekend to a german boy, and sometimes i just think, oh if i had someone, someone i knew who would be with me while i am sitting here going crazy in my mind, maybe it would be easier. maybe it wouldn't be so bad.

that's probably not true.

this past week has been a strange spiral for me. i don't understand why none of my friends have bothered to ask about my brother or how i am dealing with it. did i do something wrong? i probably did something wrong.

i want to feel like someone gives a fuck. i think i have too-high expectations.

sometimes my family looks at me and says, "why don't you just move to england?" and it hurts because i want to but i so badly don't want to leave anyone behind.

it's rainy today and it's gotten into my state of mind i think.

i've been considering changing my concentration from tesl to rhet comp to lit to creative writing again. i never know what to choose. this is a big problem in my life.

i don't know how to meet people or become better friends with people because i don't think i'm good enough for someone to want to be my friend anymore.

sometimes i get on streaks when i think: i am a really good goddamn person and i try so hard to be there for people and to care, but maybe that's just all in my head.

it's likely.

what am i even talking about anymore?

i told you: "if i don't talk about this i will explode and die."

that's how it feels.

but eventually people get tired of hearing you talk, of saying the same things over and over again.

of saying: my brother has a drug problem.
of saying: he needs help.
of saying: he's an idiot.
of saying: he used to be my favorite person in the whole world.
of saying: he stole my debit card.
of saying: he broke my trust worse than anyone else ever has.
of saying: i don't want him to die.

when i'm alone in the car and singing to my music, i always imagine someone i want to get to know better sitting in the passenger seat. i imagine they are learning something about me from the lyrics of what's coming out of the stereo. i don't know why.

what did i do that you can't seem to want me? ...what makes it so easy for you to be walking by?

i apologize often about being repetitive and too talkative. i want you to be here and sit with me and

like, christ, why is it i can't even get someone to watch a movie with me anymore?

i feel like i haven't had someone legitimately sit and watch a movie with me since eric. honestly. and he would never pay attention and it would hurt my heart so, so much because i'm so, so sensitive sometimes.

it's been a bad day and all i wanna do is look at you and know i'm okay.

remember when i saw jack's mannequin and my little 14 year old heart fluttered right out of my chest when andrew mcmahon played that piano?

i don't ever do anything, do i? i have so many concerts coming up that i want to go to, but i can't go alone. i can't just go alone.

it all comes back to feeling alone.

sometimes i just hurt and i feel like no one knows it or if they do they just don't pay attention to it anymore.

my dad told me the other night: you are a good daughter. thank you for being a good daughter.

but i don't feel like i am.

my (catholic) brothers "joke" about how i am going to hell because i don't believe in god and after a point it just hurts, it just hurts that they take everything i believe in (or in this case don't) and they try to use it against me and after a point i have to say, "okay, i know you disagree, but i don't constantly tell you you are wrong just because i don't believe what you believe."

i bought my brother a birthday card. on the inside it said "wishing you a healthy and happy year." i thought it was fitting. mom is going to take it to the rehab center tomorrow. he will be 27. on the inside i only put "love you. tia." i didn't know what else to say. i didn't think it would matter to him.

it used to matter to him, what i had to say.

we still don't even know if he got out of the rehab center or not.

all this diary ever is anymore is: here, look at how fucking crazy i feel today.

how depressing.

i have a ten page paper due tuesday that i havent started on yet. i want to email my teacher and say: "this past week has been really hard and my brother went to rehab (i think) and it's been really tumultuous for me and i know that i don't really deserve and extension but if you could give me one i would be the most grateful person in the world."

i am just so worried about him.

not even kayley has said another word about it to me. i don't know why that hurts me so bad.

i don't ever know what i am doing. i really don't.

i wish i could be one of those people who can take things day by day.

i just want something to hold on to.


index
older
profile
notes
etc.
<< | >>