real love is very quiet, very still
19.01.22 | 4:06 pm


i didn't get to see seth throughout the week last week (normally we have at least one day when we meet in the middle to see each other), and last week was brutal in terms of how busy i was (doing something or going somewhere every night), plus my workload had started to mount (so many things on top of each other) along with my health anxiety (everything is fine and the spot on my head is just a normal, healthy, weird-looking mole)...

so when i got to his house on friday, i put my things down, threw my arms around him, and started crying. the tension poured out of me and i felt myself, my whole body, for the first time all week, relax.

i cannot express the relief i felt to be there, with him, in his house, his arms wrapped around me. safe. cared for. loved.

--

“...we often mistake love for fireworks -- for drama and dysfunction. But real love is very quiet, very still. It's boring, if seen from the perspective of high drama. Love is deep and calm -- and constant.”
― Alex Michaelides, The Silent Patient


index
older
profile
notes
etc.
<< | >>